Introduction

“Every writer I know has trouble writing.” – Joseph Heller

Ever sit down in front of your computer in full preparation to do some serious writing, and then draw a blank? Yeah, me too. I think it happens to all of us. It can be frustrating and disheartening, especially in this day and age where everyone is constantly on-the-go and in-a-hurry. This article will offer some practical, easy-to-apply advice to help overcome writer’s block. With any luck, you’ll be tickling those keys and filling pages in no time.

Keep a Journal

Keeping a journal has gained a very 90s-teenage-girl connotation, but can serve as a helpful tool. My mind gets cluttered with day-to-day life. The dishes in the sink. The laundry in the basket. The bills needing paid. Dinner to be prepared. The list goes on and on. Taking the time to write out what’s on my mind, what I’ve done, what I have yet to do, and when I plan to do it helps me to process and clear my thoughts.

Another tactic is free writing. Open a notebook and write everything you’re thinking until all your thoughts are hashed out. Once you run out of things to write, set it aside and put your focus into your work. You might find this kind of clarity extremely helpful in the creative process.

Read as Much as You Write

This one is a tough one for me because I write all the time. I try to devote every spare moment to my work, but I find if I’m not pouring into myself, my work suffers. My primary project is Tales of Espiria, a fantasy series, so I try to read in the same genre. I recommend you do the same; read what you write. I discovered quickly that I have developed quite the critical eye when it comes to my genre. When reading work by renown others (Sanderson, Martin, Jordan, Tolkien, etc.), I take the time to appreciate it more. I take note of the authors’ methods, make notes of the things I like and the things I don’t like to better improve my work.

You don’t have to read the same genre you write. Sometimes it’s good to pick up a feel-good or self-help novel for motivation. Topics like organization or time management help encourage me to stay on the ball and keep working. Regardless, make sure you’re taking the time to take some creativity in so the creativity you’re putting out stays fresh.

Write Something for Fun

If you’re a writer, I hope you’re not doing it for the money—or at least just for the money. It’s a long, hard road and takes a lot of time and dedication before the payoff arrives (in most cases). For me, I get so caught up in Tales of Espiria, I forget that I’m allowed to write other things. To break up the monotony, I take the time to write short stories, poetry, blog articles, book/movie reviews, or fan fiction. Writing is fun and fulfilling for me. Sometimes finishing a few small projects keeps me driven to continue the big ones.

Fan fiction is so much fun. I have written a couple of them and plan to continue. You can create a free account and post on Fan Fiction. Write about your favorite TV series or comic book universe. It doesn’t have to be long, there are no deadlines, there’s no pressure to market it since you’ll never get paid for it, and you will probably have a lot of fun doing it.

Story Cubes

My husband bought me a gift one year for Christmas. I opened a set of dice to find a random assortment of pictures and words printed on them. They might be the best gift he’s ever given me. When I’m itching to write something but find difficulty focusing on the project I want to work on, I give these dice a whirl and build an impromptu story based on the random assortment provided. They’re short, sweet, and to-the-point stories, typically less than 100 words, but sometimes that’s all it takes to get the creative juices flowing.

There are several varieties available online. I recommend Rory’s Story Cubes. They are marketed as children’s toys but do not be dismayed; these things are awesome and worth every penny.

Conclusion

The best advice I can give is to mix it up and find something that works for you. Each individual has his or her own process and way of thinking. Take these tips and cater them to your methods. Whatever you do, don’t just sit there staring at your screen for an hour and expect your work to write itself. I’ve been there, done that, and know nothing makes me feel worse than feeling like I’ve wasted valuable time.

I hope you enjoyed this article and found it helpful. Please let me know and feel free to share with others. If you have any advice on what you do to overcome writer’s block, feel free to contact me so I can feature it in a future blog. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

